Menu

IT Services

Support menu

TeamViewer user support tool

This tool allows the IT Helpdesk to remotely connect to your machine, be it on campus, at home or in a hotel abroad.

How does it work?

If you ask for help from the IT Helpdesk they may well want to try to provide immediate help by a remote access tool called TeamViewer. If you have already had contact with this tool then you can simply run it from either the download or installed application, if not the please go to the following site:

http://get.teamviewer.com/QMWIN (for windows)
http://get.teamviewer.com/QMMAC (for Mac)
http://get.teamviewer.com/QMLINUX (for Linux)

When launching TeamViewer for the first time you will be asked to install it on your machine, however on some managed machines this will not work, so there is an option to just ‘Run’ the application instead.You should then get screen which is the QMUL corporate branded client, a disclaimer may be displayed which states that you are giving access rights to the technician and if in doubt phone the IT Helpdesk on ext. 8888.  However should we need to connect to a managed machine we will use System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM).

Please make sure that you close any application that has sensitive data so that confidentiality is not compromised during this process.

The Client has an ID number consisting of 9 digits, this will always be the same for this machine no matter if the client is uninstalled and then reinstalled. There is also a password made up of 8 randomly created letters and digits, this will change every time the client is run, or you can change it yourself by clicking on the button on the right of the password. The technician will need to be given both the ID and the password to be able to access your machine. You will get a message that a connection is being made, at any point you may stop this by refusing the connection or simply closing the client.

When the technician finally connects the screen will alter and the client will move to the bottom right of your screen, if at any time you feel that the technician is not respecting your privacy or is doing something that you do not agree with, then you have the right to terminate the session by clicking on the X of the client dialogue box. Note that the technicians name and his machine number is shown in the dialogue box.

At the end of the session the technician will disconnect from your machine and the client will go back to its ready state, you can now close the application by clicking on the red X button.

The functionality of TeamViewer will allow the technician to logout or reboot your machine without losing contact, however it does depend on you not doing anything whilst the technician is controlling your machine. The connection that is made is directly between your machine and the technician’s machine and is fully encrypted. There are logs made of each session that are stored on the TeamViewer website but this does not include any vital, critical or personal data from your machine. At present this tool will be used in the same way as a technician would use your machine should they physically go to it. It does include you sanctioning its use and, as long as you make sure that you close the client down after use, no technician will be able to connect to your machine without you giving them the ID and password.

Bookmark and Share
Return to top